Frank Sinatra in a Blender by Matthew McBride

I first heard about this book on Twitter. As soon as I saw the title I had to buy it. How could I not?

It has been quite a while since I’ve read a crime novel. I had forgotten how lovely the descriptions can be. Any book where I can almost hear the narrator’s gravelly voice in the back of my head has to be doing something right.

I did get confused at one point where they seemed to be removing the boot of an already naked man, but that could just have been me missing something. The Kindle layout works well, and there were only a couple of minor typos.

The story follows an ex-cop private detective called Valentine who’s a raging alcoholic and drug addict. There are so many points of conflict in this book that a seemingly simple and derivative bank heist plot becomes an absorbing and fascinating read.

I am not going to spoil the fun by revealing anything about Frank, but the relationship between him and Valentine is probably one of the key elements in the book.

This is a fairly short book and is very easy to read. I enjoyed every minute of it, and plan to look out for more books by Matthew McBride in the future. If you like gritty crime novels that hark back to the films you watched as a kid yet manage to embrace modernity as well, then this is probably the book for you. This book has inspired me to buy some more crime novels, and that is high praise.

Leave a Reply

