SIM by Andy Remic

I was lucky enough to be sent a copy of this book by those lovely people at Anarchy Books. I’d been waiting for the release of this book as SKINC is probably my favourite book so far this year. I love the cover for SIM, and if it goes to print it will be picked up by just about anybody that sees it. Cute kitten eyes are irresistible after all.

At first I thought this book was missing an editing pass. At the end of the first chapter it became clear that the structure and use of words was deliberate. Very soon I found myself totally immersed, and a big part of that was due to the voice of the narrator eating into my brain.

This is not the best Andy Remic book, but to me that is like saying a 308 GTB is not the best Ferrari. The whole concept of the society and its treatment SIMs clearly resonates with slavery and racist issues that we have all read about. Add to that conceited power-crazed socio-path who doesn’t realise the folly of giving the biggest guns available to an under-class and you can see that things are not going to end well.

There are twists and the ending is abrupt and final, but generally this is an easy to read and fun book to read. Andy Remic as usual writes some fantastic scenes of violence that had me patting my chainsaw. If you are looking for a high-minded morality space opera this is probably not the sci-fi book for you. If you want to spend a day in the sun reading and relaxing this is an ideal book.

Oh, did I mention there is a cute kitten called Emmy?

One thought on “SIM by Andy Remic

Leave a Reply

