Manhunter’s Mountain by Wayne D. Dundee

This book is a feature length story based around Edward A. Grainger’s hard-bitten US Marshal Cash Laramie. I’ve seen the name Wayne Dundee before but have never read any of his work. I have to admit I was a bit worried about read a story about a character I enjoy that is written by a different author.

If you haven’t read any of the Cash Laramie stories it will not lessen your enjoyment of this book. This is cowboy fiction plain and simple. Don’t walk away. It isn’t quite that simple. Reading this book made me think I was sitting on the sofa with my dad brandishing my  plastic Colt at the TV. At the same time though this feels like a Hardboiled crime novel that just happens to be set in the Old West.

There is not the same feel about this book as I found with the previous Cash stories. This is certainly a character deserving of a longer story and this one does him justice. I was engrossed from start to finish with the characters and the plot. If I have one criticism of this book, I’d have to say that it felt a little short and missing a final confrontation, one with a dirty great gun fight.

It doesn’t take more than a couple of hours to read this book and it costs about the same as a filter coffee so you don’t really have an excuse not to give this story a try.

Leave a Reply

