Dead Harvest by Chris F. Holm

The first thing I have to mention about this book is the cover. It is stunning. A brilliant retro homage to crime fiction of the past. This instant warm glow does not recede when you start reading.

In simplistic terms this story is a detective story. What makes it different? Well for a start the detective is a damned soul who’s job it is to collect the souls of the wicked for the Archenemy (The Boss). With both Angels and Demons chasing his tail finding out who wants to set-up a young girl for murder is not easy. There is a slight twist at the end that I didn’t see coming but generally I know how this book was more or less going to end pretty early on. This is not a bad thing. I think of it like Murder She Wrote. I pretty much always knew what was going to happen even if I missed the first scene. Did that ever cause me to like the story less? No. Sometimes the process of how a story develops and reaches the conclusion can be a lot more interesting than a sudden and surprising twist. This is one of those stories. At the end of every chapter I was wondering how it was going to move forward to the next towards the end.

For me this was an effortless and thoroughly enjoyable read and I will certainly be reading the second Collector novel when it comes out. There was a particular line in this book that I wanted to make a note of and mention in this review because it made me chuckle. Unfortunately I got so caught up in the story that I forgot both the line and where in the novel it was.

Being an Angry Robot book there is of course a little extra at the end of the story. In this case it is the first chapter of the second book. After reading this am am already wondering who I have to kill to get a read of this. Or maybe I just have to bargain away my soul.

Leave a Reply

