Day of Demons edited by Colin F. Barnes

My cyber stalking of Colin Barnes (allegedly) paid off when I opened my email to find an advance copy of Day of Demons.

Releasing a horror anthology on Friday 13th is a stroke of genius. The good stuff does not end there though. The main theme for this anthology is obviously Demons, but more specifically events that happen on a single day. OK, so back story cuts happen in the past, but you get the gist. I’d originally intended to steal, er copy, er pay homage to The Eloquent Page way of reviewing anthologies and writing nice and precise sections on each of the stories. Unfortunately I got so swept up that I totally forgot to do that. Bad Tony.

I want to start by saying that this is a mixed bag. Not in terms of quality, but in terms of the types of stories. They are all horror stories related to Demons, but they are very different. There was one story that I didn’t really enjoy, but I think that was due more to my prejudice against Christianity than the actual story. I know it is wrong, but I do struggle to enjoy anything that is too steeped in Christianity. Technically the story works and the characters work. You’ll probably disagree with me on this, but that’s one of the great things about art. We all enjoy different things.

Choosing my favourite story in this anthology was not easy, but when I finished reading The Deal by Karen Davies I instantly had to know whether it was going to be made in to a full length novel as I want to read it. So that would have to be it. The variety of writing styles was very interesting, from the sensual and erotic writing of Krista Walsh to the clinical and scientific leaning of Victoria Griesdoorn (which I absolutely love by the way). Each story provided a fresh perspective and writing style whilst still knitting together as a single entity.

Colin Barnes is a strong advocate of gender balance in genre. This is another of his publications that shows why women should be considered for publication and reading more often than they appear to be at the moment. Don’t buy this anthology because there are female authors included, buy it because it is full of great yarns that happen to be by female authors.

One thought on “Day of Demons edited by Colin F. Barnes

Leave a Reply

