13 Shots of Noir by Paul D. Brazill

I bought this book because I have read a few of Mr Brazill’s stories in anthologies that I enjoyed. Most of the Noir stories I have read are American in feel and content.  These stories are British in both respects. The dark humour and the banter could only be British. My personal favourite was a line about Gary Glitter. I won’t spoil it for you, but it got me some funny looks as I sat on a bench by the river giggling to myself. I loved the British feel and it drew me right inside the stories.

Each of these short stories has a different feel. Each one offers something different in terms of perspective and style. They are however all definitely dark and certainly outside of the usual detective role. Even the one story about a P.I. shows him to be a dishonourable and quite horrid little man. There is no wastage in these stories. They are simple, hard-hitting and extremely realistic. Even the Werewolf and Vampire stories have a gritty realism about them.

If you are a fan of Crime Noir and particularly the Hardboiled variety then this book will be right up your dark alley, bleeding out in the corner near the dumpster. Don’t expect positive morality or a happy ending as you may be disappointed.  I’ll certainly be buying some more books by Paul D. Brazill and I suggest you do the same.

One thought on “13 Shots of Noir by Paul D. Brazill

Leave a Reply

