The Woken Gods by Gwenda Bond

As a man fast approaching forty I am not the target audience for Young Adult fiction. When I do read YA books they tend to be ones me teenage son likes. This is a bit of a departure for me. This is a book about teenagers and and it does show the hormone driven angst and social awkwardness in personal relationships that you’d expect. What this book does really well is not let any of those things get in the way of a good story. The tension between the characters was there but it was subtle and not at all overpowering.

Although this story is set in modern times there is a lot of magic around. This is to be expected when you have multiple pantheons of gods all inhabiting the world alongside mankind. I especially liked the explanation that the ambient magic of the gods interferes with the electricity and causes a realignment of society. The Society of the Sun are the guardians of mankind and keep the balance between man and god.

The background of this story is so rich and colourful that I could easily picture the gods. The story is well paced and kept me engaged all the way through. The cover for this book does not feature a strong and powerful teenager. Instead there are several little bits that make you wonder how they relate to the story inside. I wanted to read this book as soon as I saw the cover. The book like the cover will appeal to adults as well as teenagers because it is well put together and puts the story first at all times. I’ll certainly be looking out for more books by Gwenda Bond.

Leave a Reply

