Four And Twenty Blackbirds by Cherie Priest

I didn’t intend to buy this book. Except I kind of did. I have heard lots of good things about her work but like so many other authors I just hadn’t got round to reading any of her work yet. On vacation I came across this book at a bargain price and I just couldn’t resist it.

I like the cover and title. They are simple and after a few seconds taking them in I had to flip the book over and find out what it was about. I would label this as horror but it could easily be considered southern gothic. It certainly has a mysterious hoodoo element at the centre of the plot. As I started reading this book I thought it was going to be a young adult supernatural thriller. Do not let that fool you.  There is a decent amount of scary bits and a sensible amount of blood and gore for the subject matter. More than anything though this book is a fascinating read that has a nice pace and doesn’t try to be too clever. It is very easy to get swept up in this story.

The central character Eden Moore is a rebellious and angry young lady for most of the story. It is pretty easy to understand why when you read this book. Part of me wants to say she comes from a dysfunctional family but that is an almost laughable description of the warped and bizarre family history that is gradually revealed throughout this story.

I enjoyed this story and am already trying to decide which of the author’s books to try next. I may have to look for another Eden Moore book though as I do like the character.

Leave a Reply

