London Macabre by Steven Savile

I bought this book expecting a Steampunk story. Although set in the Victorian era it is nothing like that at all. I’m not sure how I’d actually describe this book to be honest. There is definitely a League of Extraordinary Gentlemen feel to this story. It is based more around magical means and less about technology and science but it has that same kind of feel.

I read the Kindle version of this book and found an unusual number of typos in this book. I emailed the publisher and they said they’d look in to it and update it as needed. Hopefully this will be fixed as it really spoiled the flow in places. This is one of the great things about ebooks. The publisher can alter the book and it can be re-downloaded for free from the provider.

I mentioned above that the flow was interrupted. This is not a book for half hour reading sessions. I read the first half like that and found it slightly frustrating. I left it until I had more time. This transformed my reading experience. There is a lot to take in and remember. It is also scarily easy to get lost in this book and lose a couple of hours without noticing. This is a beautiful read and is a perfect way to spend a lazy Sunday.

The class and gender restriction on Victorian society are shown and cleverly subverted with making them too large for the story. Describing this story without going in to lots of detail isn’t easy.I don’t want to spoil too much of the plot but this is the only story I’ve read where Uriel gets massacred and the Garden of Eden burned to a crisp.

This is an interesting and enjoyable read.

One thought on “London Macabre by Steven Savile

Leave a Reply

