I am Slaughter by Dan Abnett

I am Slaughter by Dan Abnett

I loved the title of this story. As I read through I thought I knew why it was called that but then there was another reason. These two reasons were opposed and created an interesting tension in my mind. I can’t wait to see how these clash and live up to the title.

It was a good idea to get Abnett to write the first book in this series. He has a way of creating lots of threads that are needed later on in a series without it seeming contrived and cluttered. The story flowed nicely.

At the start of this book the empire was strong with barely a threat to the central systems in generations. The old ways being replaced with pandering politics which seems scarily like a modern British parliament to me. Not a great sign. Sure enough as soon as the veneer was pulled back there were cracks the size of my credit card bill.

Some of my favourite Abnett books have been about the Inquisition. Ravenor and Eisenhorn gave me hours of pleasure. To see this side of the Ordos was really interesting for me. I particularly enjoyed the interplay between the head Assassin and the Inquisition senate representative. These two are used to performing duties that others deem unsavoury but that are required to protect the throne from enemies within, without and beyond. This created a tension to their interplay that seemed more dangerous and significant than the slaughter of a Space Marine Chapter.

I am reading this series in the form of audio books and the quality of the reading has been excellent without being hammy and overdone. I’ve already ordered the whole series. This is well worth a read.

Leave a Reply

