The Velocity Of Constant by Hardeep Sangha

The Velocity Of Constant by Hardeep SanghaI’ve spent the last week trying to work out how to describe this book. I’ll start with the easy bit. The cover. Daniele Serra. I could look at Serra’s work all day long. I don’t think I need to add to that.

At first I thought this was going to be beat poetry in a science fiction setting. That doesn’t quite describe it though. For me it sits somewhere between beat poetry and the beat literature of writers such as Burroughs. That for me is what makes this book different and almost indefinable. It is only seventy five pages long but reading this book takes a lot more time and effort that a book of that length normally does. I had to read some parts of this book three or four times and I’m still not sure I’m bright enough to understand all the subtleties.

The big difference for me was the layout. The little boxes of text on the page seem to laugh at linear progression and flip the bird at convention. I should have hated this but I didn’t. I found it fun and refreshing and most important thought provoking.

If you want a safe and simple read this is not the book for you, but if you want something different and challenging this book will be well worth your time and effort.

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.